11 July 2013

Wolves Remain in Midwest as AHL Alters Division Alignment

The Chicago Wolves will stay in the American Hockey League’s Midwest Division after the 30-team league re-aligned its two conference, six-division format for the 2013-14 season.

The Wolves will compete against on new rival in the five-team Midwest Division - the Iowa Wild - and three traditional foes: the Grand Rapids Griffins, Milwaukee Admirals, and Rockford IceHogs.

The Western Conference also features five rivals from the North Division: the Hamilton Bulldogs, Lake Erie Monsters, Rochester Americans, Toronto Marlies, and Utica Comets. The newly renamed West Division features five squads: the Abbotsford Heat, Charlotte Checkers, Oklahoma City Barons, San Antonio Rampage and Texas Stars.

The 2013-14 AHL regular-season schedule will be released later this summer. For information on tickets or group outings, call 1-800-THE-WOLVES or visit chicagowolves.com.

Western Conference

Midwest Division
Chicago (St. Louis)
Grand Rapids (Detroit)
Iowa (Minnesota)
Milwaukee (Nashville)
Rockford (Chicago)

North Division
Hamilton (Montreal)
Lake Erie (Colorado)
Rochester (Buffalo)
Toronto (Toronto)
Utica (Vancouver)

West Division
Abbotsford (Calgary)
Charlotte (Carolina)
Oklahoma City (Edmonton)
San Antonio (Florida)
Texas (Dallas)

Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division
Manchester (LA)
Portland (Phoenix)
Providence (Boston)
St. John’s (Winnipeg)
Worcester (San Jose)

Northeast Division
Adirondack (Philadelphia)
Albany (New Jersey)
Bridgeport (NY Islanders)
Hartford (NY Rangers)
Springfield (Columbus)

East Division
Binghamton (Ottawa)
Hershey (Washington)
Norfolk (Anaheim)
Syracuse (Tampa Bay)
W-B/Scranton (Pittsburgh)

Note: NHL affiliate indicated in parentheses.